Historic Jersey buildings
If you own this property, have ancestors who lived here, or can provide any further information and photographs, please contact us through email@example.com
Rue de Maupertuis, St Mary
Type of property
Farmhouse with dower wing
No recent transactions
Families associated with the property
- Arthur - Family sold the house in bankruptcy in 1830
- Renouf - In 1941 John Renouf (1886- ) and his sister Olive (1888- ) were living here
Historic Environment Record entry
The farmhouse and dower wing retain external historic character with good quality stonework. The house emulates the polite architecture of Georgian fashion but with a continuing local character.
19th century combination farm buildings with glazed upper windows are unique to Jersey and the Channel Islands.
The principal house is of unknown date, but evidence suggests it dates to early-mid 19th century. Although not completely clear, a similarly aligned house in this location does not appear to be marked on the Richmond Map. Transactions on the land registry can be traced back to 1830, when the house was acquired from a branch of the Arthur family, which had gone bankrupt.
The dower wing would appear to be of later 19th century date, particularly with the use of brick in the construction.