On the coast
Plemont is a sandy beach on the north coast of Jersey. It has the most accessible large caves in Jersey and has long been a popular spot for holidaymakers to visit during an island tour
Plémont is a headland on the north west coast of Jersey in the parish of Saint Ouen. The headland terminates in a peninsula with a very narrow neck. Le Petit Plémont is the neck and cove to the east. The tip of the peninsula is La Tête de Plémont.
Adjacent to Plémont to the west is La Grève au Lanchon - a fine sandy beach of which the main attraction was until 1939, the sand-eels (du lanchon) that were caught in nocturnal fishing expeditions. Tourism replaced fishing: from Victorian times the caves, easily accessible at low tide, have attracted both locals and visitors alike, and were a magnet for the island's elite on a fine, sunny day. They would descend the steps and bridges from the top of the tall cliffs, dressed in their Sunday best, and the ladies would be carried on the men's backs through the pools which form in the sand in front of the caves.The beach is also popular with surfers when the sea is rough, and at other times it provides a safe, protected beach for a day out in the sunshine.
There was a guardhouse on the neck of the peninsula, with a drawbridge.
At one time there was a hotel at the top of the cliff, and then a holiday camp was built on the headland. Now that has been demolished and the headland has been restored to its natural state.
Click on image to see larger picture
Four pictures of plemont copied from 1904 stereoviews. Since the first parties of islanders and holidaymakers started to explore Jersey in horse-drawn carriages and charabancs in the 19th century, Plemont has always been a popular place to halt, clamber down the rocks, and explore the caves and rock pools. There are many much better quality pictures of Plemont on this page, which is completely covered at high tide and today is popular with surfers, but these have a certain fascination having been taken by an amateur photographer well over 100 years ago.
1852 by Philip Ouless